FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup: Defending champions Spain lift title after 1-0 win over Colombia

FIFA Women’s U17 World Cup: Spain lifted the title in Navi Mumbai via an own goal by Colombia.

India Today Web Desk

Navi Mumbai,UPDATED: Oct 30, 2022 23:51 IST

Spain lift U-17 World Cup. (Courtesy: PTI)

By India Today Web Desk: The FIFA Women’s U17 World Cup came to an end in India with defending champions Spain lifting the title once again. The Spanish side clinched an 1-0 victory over first-time finalists Colombia whose campaign ended in heartbreak after an own goal in the summit clash in Navi Mumbai on Sunday, 30 October.

Spain emerged as the winners after an own goal by Colombian defender Ana María Guzmán Zapata in the 82nd minute of the final at the D Y Patil Sports Stadium.

FIFA president Gianni Infantino, alongside top officials from the Asian Football Federation (AFC) and All India Football Federation (AIFF), were in attendance at the venue as Spain eked out a solitary goal win and retained the title they also claimed in 2018.

Spain took the lead with Cristina’s goal, when she scored off the rebound after the Colombian goalkeeper had stopped it the first time. However, the score remained 0-0 as the goal was disallowed by a VAR review. It ruled that Cristina had touched the ball with her hand.

The two teams also met in the group phase, with Spain winning 1-0. This was European giants Spain’s second title.

In the third-place classification match, Nigeria beat Germany 3-2 on penalties.

Two missed penalties by Germany’s Paulina Platner and Loreen Bender and a save by goalkeeper Omilana Faith off Paulina Bartz’s shot paved the way for Nigeria’s first-ever medal in the tournament.

The World Cup was hosted in India after much drama with the All India Football Federation getting a ban from the apex footballing body over third party interference. AIFF was dissolved by the Supreme Court of India and they asked the body to hold independent elections. Former Mohun Bagan keeper Kalyan Chaubey beat legendary Indian captain Bhaichun Bhutia to become the president of the body.

Source link

Leave a Comment